1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Air Pump Thingy

Discussion in 'Fish and Aquarium - all types' started by Allie, May 26, 2004.

1. Allie

Allie New Member

This myabe a dumb question but I am still rather new at this fish thing.I just put an air pump thingy in my 10 gal tank because I was told it helps the fish to breathe better or something like that(personally I like the way the bubbles look).I was just curious as to where the best place for one is or does it not matter?Right now it is close to the filter intake tube.Will all the bubbles affect the filtering?Thanks in advance.

2. Obelix

Obelix New Member

The little airstones are pretty cool and it on top of adds air to the water helps prevent a film from building up on the surface of the water. Before I added a undergravel filter to my 5 gallon I wedged my air pump in my little cave. The one thing that the bubbler might effect the filter is it could push some of the dirt and stuff that should go into the filer away and thus it wouldn't get sucked up.

3. t_chelle16

t_chelle16 New Member

I'd move the bubbles away from the intake. Aside from being really noisy, all those bubbles could cause it to lose it's prime and stop working.

-Chelle

4. 3_second_memory

3_second_memory New Member

bubbles are realy effective, arnt they!