1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Help w/ First Planted Tank with Shrimp

Discussion in 'Fish and Aquarium - all types' started by Opicana, May 14, 2006.

1. Opicana

Opicana New Member

Hey folks,
    Thanks to the suggestion of someone @ this forum, I am turning my 3 gallon tank into a nano planted tank with shrimp. However, I am still pretty new to all this, and I have never had a planted tank OR shrimp!
    I am desperate need of some help...anything from general tips to a step-by-step guide; or a link to a site, would be appreciated!

How many shrimp should I get? What kind is good for a beginner?

What types of plants? How many?

What type of substrate should I use?

Where do I find out what the ideal conditions (pH, temp, etc...) are for each species?

Thanks in advance!
    ~Opicana~

2. t_chelle16

t_chelle16 New Member

I've never actually kept shrimp, but I think ghost shrimp are pretty readily available and not too difficult to keep. In a heavily planted 3 gallon, if you want to aim for a really low maintenance tank, I'd probably go with 3 or 4.

For plants, I'd try to find some smaller low-light plants. What are the dimensions of the tank? Is it tall?