1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Hi! I'm new with budgie breeding...looking for help! :)

Discussion in 'Birds - all breeds / types' started by zarate, Aug 4, 2004.

1. zarate

zarate New Member

Hi everyone! I've been readin this site, and it's wonderful! Ok...I just got my female parakeet 2 days ago, and she's doing great with my male..who I've had for 9 months now. My male was very lonely, and I could tell as soon as he saw her that he was happy. So....what is it that I need to do to make them want to mate? And if you have the time, could you explain it all to me in a detailed message? I really want these 2 to be as healthy and happy as can be, ANY info would be very helpful and much appreciated. Thanks everyone!!! :eek:
    -Mandi

2. charmedagain

charmedagain New Member

HI congratulations on your new bird.....

First its always best to leave the birds till they have been together for about 3months this gives them time to bond attempting to breed 2 birds that havent bonded is asking for trouble when the chicks hatch as the female will attack the male and even kill her babies.

They both need to be over 12months old before allowing them to mate.
    The need cuttlefishbone for extra calcium as egg laying takes alot out of the hen (female ) Mineral blocks and vitamin blocks.

They also need a good bird seed plus fresh fruit and vegtables.