1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Kindergarten Pet for the Fall.

Discussion in 'All other pets' started by cosmicpixie, Jul 27, 2005.

1. cosmicpixie

cosmicpixie New Member

I'm a kindergarten teacher and I was looking into getting a small pet for our classroom. I already have a fish (a betta) named Charlie. But I wanted to get something they could take out of the cage and touch. Or be able to take home for the weekend. In my old classroom in Ohio we had a rabbit, but it was plagued with health problems until its death. I don't want kids to have to go through that. What would be a good pet for a classroom of kindergarteners? I want them to be able really enjoy a pet. Thanks in advance!

2. sakura.seppun

sakura.seppun New Member

A Guinea Pig or Hamster might work well. You'll want something larger than a mouse, they're too hard for a 5 year old to keep track of when holding it, but you don't want something so large that the cage will take up the whole classroom.
    A Hamster would be small enough for the kids to easily take home on weekends, but the Guinea Pig can be put on a harness and leash for around the classroom and if you wanted to take it out for recess. hmm...
    A Rabbit would still be good, you're really taking health chances with anything, thats just part of owning a pet, sadly..