1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Oscar advice - Im a newbie !!

Discussion in 'Fish and Aquarium - all types' started by H@VOC, Jul 7, 2004.

1. H@VOC

H@VOC New Member

Hi all - im new here, i've always been interested in keeping fish. And this coming w/end im getting myself some Oscars! :D

Can anyone maybe help me as to what kind of oscars these are? They are a dark green/back colour, with orange markings on the body.

And another question....

How often do i feed them? They about 11cm long and was planning on giving them crickets and occasionally guppies and gecko's as food. Heard they also will eat liver.

Thanx alot

***H@VOC***

2. bloodpain

bloodpain New Member

Its great you found the wonders of fishkeeping. If you want to keep oscars, you have to know how big these fishes can grow.. And you need to get a very big tank.. trust me.. ask t_chelle or somebody.. they know a thing or two.. Best of luck. :eek:

3. H@VOC

H@VOC New Member

Thanx !! :D

Yeah i know how big they get - was told they get to about 35cm or so? Is this correct?

I plan on getting a large tank very soon, i just need to sell my anaconda and my gamecube :lol:

Another question: How much does the size of a tank really influence the size/growth of your fish?

Im doing alot of research now before i go and get them on sat/sunday...

4. Alen

Alen New Member