1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Potty Training 12 Week Old Cairn Terrier

Discussion in 'Dogs - small breeds (toy) specific' started by Ozziesmom, Mar 19, 2005.

1. Ozziesmom

Ozziesmom New Member

Hello. This is my first time posting. Just got my Cairn terrier. I've had him one week. He is 12 weeks old. I live in Florida, so I am trying to potty train him outside. I have a big backyard that's fenced in. The problem: It's been raining and the grass is wet and he does not like wet grass. I have a patio that's tiled and that's where he likes to go, on the tile! I don't think he has ever been outside before I got him. I am crating him at night and also during the day and that seems to be okay. He really does not go in the crate. He did the first two days, but beyond that he has not. He cannot make it the whole night in the crate, though. I put him to bed about 9:00 and then I wake up around 12:30 - 1:30 to let him him out, then I wake up at 6:00 to let him out again. It's hard trying to judge how often to let him out. Usually when I let him out at 6:00 a.m. he will go #2. Then when I feed him breakfast at around 6:30 I wait an hour to see if he has to go again and he doesn't. Should I be letting him out every one to two hours? I'm wondering if I should just get him used to walking on a leash around the neighborhood instead of just trying to roam the backyard and not