1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

Strange growth on gravel

Discussion in 'Fish and Aquarium - all types' started by arcticfox, Apr 18, 2004.

1. arcticfox

arcticfox New Member

OK then this is my first post,Ive been keeping tropical fish for over 40 years,but Ive never seen what has happened in one of my tanks recently,its a sort of sticky slime that sticks to the gravel and ordinary use of the gravel cleaner will not pick it up,the only way I have found to remove it is to stir up the gravel which releases the slime then it can be sucked up and removed but.....it will return in about 3 days and it has to be done again and again and again,very frustrating of course,looking at it through the glass it looks like a very fine cotton wool coating on the gravel,does anyone know what this is? :|

2. gr8fuljames

gr8fuljames New Member

It sounds like a fungus, maybe from uneaten food. Try cutting down on the food and stepping up the w/c's.

3. arcticfox

arcticfox New Member