1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

HELP!! Fish won't grow!!

Discussion in 'Fish and Aquarium - all types' started by AC from TO, May 29, 2008.

1. AC from TO

AC from TO New Member

I'm new to cichlids and 7 or so months ago I got a 30gal tank, 2 green terror cichlids and a clown pleco. The people at the store where I got them said that these fish would be fine in my 30gal tank and I trusted them. Having done more reading I've found out that the cichlids should be in a 55gal at least.

This problem aside, one of my GTC is growing like a weed (has doubled in size at least) while the other is exactly the same size as when I got it.... 1.5in long. They both seem to eat quite well, I feed a varied diet of flake, pellets, and freeze dried worms and still this poor little sucker won't grow!

My aunt has a 75gal tank and keeps south american cichlids so my plan when I discovered my tank was too small was to let them grow a bit (so they didn't get picked on in her tank) and transfer them to her tank and turn mine into a mixed tropical tank instead. I don't want to send this poor little guy to his death in a tank full of bigger fish and the best solution I can come up with is to send the bigger one on his own and hold the little guy back and see what happens with him on his own.