1. Daphnia - Live Aquarium Foods

Grow your baby fish like a PRO
    Live Daphnia are great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry. Order online to start a never-ending supply of Live Daphnia! [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Microworms - Live Aquarium Foods

Microworms are a great live feed for your Fish or Shrimp Fry, easy to culture and considerably improve your fry mortality rate. Start your never-ending supply of Microworms today! [ Click to order ]
  3. Australian Blackworms - Live Fish Food

Live Australian Blackworms, Live Vinegar Eels. Visit us now to order online. Express Delivery. [ Click to order ]
    Dismiss Notice

How to Identify your Cichlids

Discussion in 'Fish and Aquarium - all types' started by MILO, Jun 20, 2006.

1. MILO

MILO New Member

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting a message on this board. Although I have had fish all my life I am fairly new to owning my own fish tank. I set up a 40 gallon tank about 2 1/2 - 3 months ago. I started off the tank with 4 cichlids. 2 I know where Jack Dempseys and the other 2 are some sort of purple peacocks (maybe zebras? they are very common at the local ps) Well I should start off by saying that the Jack Dempseys did not make it the tank with the africans. Anyways, once the tank levels were all balanced and we got the OK to get some more fish my husband went a little crazy and the ps. Now I know alot of people are going to come back and say that we have way to many fish in this tank but the fish seem to be doing great for now (probably because they are young and not full grown) anyways here goes, in the 40 gallon we have 14 fish all together plus 1 plecko.

Here is what i know we have
    1 P.S. Red Top Zebra
    1. Pseudotropheus Demasoni (I love this guy)
    3 Pseudotrop auratus chuipokae
    1 Jaco freibergi Peacock "Eureka"
    1 O.B. Peacock (All Black, but seems to change colour in the light to a very light grey, then purple, then back to black)
    1 Red Tail Shark